A little something for a wee someone

Hello all, I have been looking for a pattern for baby booties for a long time and must have tried several. Even though the patterns have said they are easy to intermediate skill level I have always ended up very disappointed with the outcome!

I do think it’s my interpretation of the patterns not the pattern writers fault!!

But then I came across the Posh Crochet Baby Booties from crochethooksyou.com at: http://www.crochethooksyou.com/posh-crochet-baby-booties-pattern/

It is a very quick pattern, with only 8 rounds. And what made it especially perfect for me was an absolutely superb video tutorial which is ideal for visual learners like myself. The video tutorial can be found here: http://youtu.be/OorOYipp5Oo 

The pattern also  has some superb links to videos for the basic crochet stitches and a crochet stitch conversion chart. (Because just to make it difficult there are American and UK terms for crochet stitches). It is useful to have a stitch conversion chart especially when you start out but also really useful when, like me you crochet  that many American patterns that, once you find one, the UK patterns really throw you. You will find the majority of free patterns online are written in American terms. But always best to check first before you start. 

  

Here are the newborn booties I made using this pattern. I used Sidair snuggly DK and a 4mm hook to achieve the newborn size of an 8cm sole. This differs from the pattern as it states that an ” 8cm sole (newborn to 3 mth old) – use 3.0mm crochet hook”. This is due to the difference in yarn and therefore the gauge. 

  

To create a newborn baby set I also crocheted a hat (pictured above) in the same yarn. As I am not able to measure the babies heads I have used this chart to determine the hat size http://www.anniespictureperfect.com/2013/01/18/how-to-properly-size-crochet-hats-chart-for-correct-sizing-including-magic-circle-sizes/

I’m thinking of including a baby blanket in another newborn gift set. Probably sized to fit a car seat. What do you think?

MIC xx

 

Leave a Reply

