Hello world!

Morning all, well this is my first blog. I am very excited and very nervous all rolled into one. I suppose I should start by introducing myself. My name is Mharie Forrester, I have a wonderful husband (for the majority of the time), Nick and too beautiful children, Isla (6) and Sam (almost 3 and he is a boy, we just like long haired surfer dude boys!). The picture below was taken in the woods last weekend when we had a picnic and a mooch round the woods. Islas comment was that it was better than the play park! Although we did end up there too!

   We all live with our cat Archie in Sunnyside, Rotherham.

I took the decision to become a stay at home mum not long after my son (Sam) was born. More out of necessity as Nick is away with work for the majority of the week and we have no family support in the area. My mum and dad live around 8 hours (non stop) drive away in a small town called Keith, where I was born and dragged up!!!

I found this decsion very difficult to make as I have always been an ambitious person, completing a Bsc (Hons) degree in food technology, even though my English teacher told me I’d never make anything of myself! ( well he could always read my blog and check my SPG I suppose). I quickly climbed the ladder in my first job, making Technical Manager by the time I was 25!

Next challenge, I became a technical auditor. This involved travelling around the world auditing food factories to food safety and hygiene standards. I loved it but it really wasn’t as glamorous as it sounds only seeing airports, hotels and the inside of factories!! It also wasn’t family friendly!

Cue our marriage in 2007 and the birth of our daughter Isla Michelle Forrester. I decided to leave the food industry and become a secondary school teacher!! I loved working with the kids. They came in all shapes and sizes and brought their own challenges. I struggled with the fact that the kids are just numbers, not people to nurture and grow.

As I said I found the decision very difficult to make. I felt lost, even though I love my kids, I felt a very big piece of me was gone!  This, as well as other things, eventually effected my health. I was in a numb state for a long time.

Then I found crochet! It saved me. I eventually found something I could do for me although all the things I made and still make are for other people. I love giving and sharing.

I wanted to start this blog to share my crochet experiences with others. Share the very few patterns I’ve written myself and share where to find the best free patterns that I have found on the Internet (if it’s not broke don’t fix it). Hope you find my blogs interesting and as helpful as I intend them to be.

Love MIC xx

Leave a Reply

